Hornby Magazine Model Railway Award winners 2018


The winners of the first annual Hornby Magazine Model Railway Awards were revealed at the Great Electric Train Show in Milton Keynes on October 13 following counting of the public votes.

The Model Railway Awards were launched in HM136 offering short lists in seven categories covering from Manufacturer of the Year, Best Locomotive awards in three scales plus innovation and retailer votes.

The winners of the categories were:

Best ‘OO’ gauge Locomotive – Locomotion Models for the Great Northern Railway Stirling ‘single’ No. 1

Best ‘O’ gauge Locomotive – Dapol for the Great Western Railway ‘57XX’ Pannier Tank

Best ‘N’ gauge Locomotive – Graham Farish for the English Electric Class 40 diesel

Best ‘OO’ gauge Carriage/Wagon – Rails of Sheffield for its London and North Eastern Railway Dynamometer Car

Best ‘O’ gauge Carriage/Wagon – Dartaed/Ellis Clark Trains British Railway Mk 1 carriages

Best ‘N’ gauge Carriage/Wagon – Dapol for the Southern Railway Maunsell four-compartment brake third

Innovation of the Year – Train-Tech for its automatic colour light signals for ‘OO’ gauge

Large retailer of the Year – Rails of Sheffield

Small retailer of the Year –  Cheltenham Model Centre

Manufacturer of the year – Bachmann Europe

Congratulations to the winners all of which were selected by Hornby Magazine readers.


Posted in News Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,


Our Instant Issue Service sends you an email whenever a new issue of Hornby Magazine is out. SAVE ON QUEUES - FREE P&P